Skip navigation

Over the last few days, weeks even, this message of being thankful and grateful for what I have been given, those around me and people expressing their thanks and gratitude for me has kept coming up, over and over again.

I admit straight up that this is not an area that I excel in… at all. I often fail at it.. but am trying…

The latest of these happenings occurred today, twice already, and it’s only 3pm…

At breakfast, Aaron spoke about being thankful of the opportunity we have been given, making it count and loving those around us as we go.

Then I got home and read a blog post from B. Reith.. here is an excerpt…

So while I was on the plane I wrote down 25 things I’m thankful for. Not in any order, and not the top 25, just the first 25 things that popped into my head. So here it is:

1. Oxygen – my lungs are working and I can breathe in and out without pain.
2. My heart is successfully pumping blood throughout my entire body.
3. My mother and father – for their unconditional love, support and friendship for my entire life. That is a rare thing to have these days.
4. God’s forgiveness and mercy because of the sacrifice that Jesus made.
5. Water and food. I don’t miss a meal unless if I choose to. I read somewhere that 1/3 of the world is well-fed, 1/3 is underfed, and 1/3 is starving. I dump out water and people die every day because they don’t have access to it.
6. My job – I get paid to do what I love most, to connect with people through music.
7. Eternal life through Jesus Christ, that trumps them all.
8. For the fact that now is not forever. Our worst moments here are only temporary.
9. Strong Tower Bible Church.
10. The ability to see, hear, smell, touch, speak and sing. (sorry, that’s like 6 in 1)
11. The ability to read, write, learn and study.
12. Good coffee šŸ™‚
13. My 97 Honda Accord that I got for dirt cheap.
14. The gospel and salvation of Jesus. That I have access to the Truth through God’s Word.
15. The privilege to sponsor a child in Sudan through http://www.makewaypartners.org.
16. I survived today, on two different planes, in a van with a crazy driver, on a shuttle… nothing bad happened. I saw on the news yesterday that a dad killed in a car accident on his way to welcome his son back from the war in Iraq. I believe that everyday miracles are happening all around us, we just don’t see them. I’m thankful for those miracles.
17. For the times I’ve suffered and hurt and God helped me through it. I’m now stronger because of the trials I faced.
18. My band of brothers, who walk with me and strengthen me when I’m weak.
19. Good movies.
20. The internet šŸ™‚ And all other technological things that make life a lot easier, like microwaves, oh… and laptops!
21. I can talk to God the Creator and King of the universe anytime I want because I have access to Him through Jesus. That blows all of these other things out of the water.
22. Comfortable beds, in which I’m about to go to sleep in. My friend just got back from Haiti and said that there is a homeless community of kids that live in a trash heap.
23. Good breakfast!
24. Inspiring music
25. Sunsets that make you stop where you are and be filled with awe.

Wow, I could go on and on and on. I would encourage you to try this exercise. Reminding myself of the things I’m thankful for changes my perspective. I spend most of my time looking at the negative, finding the one thing to complain about. That’s ridiculous. If we practiced being thankful everyday I promise it would open our eyes to how blessed we are, and how much we can help others at the same time

I have so many things to be thankful for, so many people to be thankful for and a great God to be thankful for… but do I live my life that way?

A song I first heard a few years back that really moved me is “Thank You” – Sanctus Real

There are new horizons with colors that I’ve never seen
The sky is filled with graces since you have carried me
I felt so far beyond your reach, but you gave everything for me
I was lost but you rescued my life

[Chorus:]
Why in the world did you come after me?
Thank you, thank you
Words aren’t enough, but for now I can say
Thank you, thank you

There is hope rising ’cause you have strength I’ve never seen
And your eyes are shining ’cause you shed tears for me
I was miles from dry land, but you gave everything you had
I can’t understand a love of this kind

[Chorus:]

I could find other lines that you haven’t heard spoken over and over again
I’ve tried every way, but I keep landing on that simple phrase
So I’ll keep singing, “thank you”

My 25 things… (in no particular order.. just what came to me as I typed this)

1. God – saved me.. without Him I’d hate to think where I’d be.. headed to hell.
2. Friends – who stand by me no matter what, for the fun times that build our bond and the tough times that cement it.
3. Family – unconditional love.
4. Music – speaks when I don’t wanna listen.
5. Church – accepting and life changing.
6. Internet – able to reach millions of people at the click of a button… under utilized resource.
7. Food – 26000 kids die everyday from a lack of basic necessities.
8. Education – School and uni are services that I often don’t give a second thought about.
9. Mobile Phone – what the heck would I do with out it?
10. James Turner – Legend who has inspired and taught me heaps.
11. Ben Hafner – Way back showed me that Christianity wasn’t only for weirdos… and now continues to inspire me to love others.
12. Hillsong United – Being part of such an epic community is incredible!
13. Job – I haven’t ever had to find a job, the right job always finds me, giving me the flexibility to do stuff like schoolies and other such things without having to hastle about holidays and time off, while still earning good money.
14. Car – My car enables me to get places… easily.
15. Australia – I live in a pretty great country, beautiful and I heart the weather… but also relatively good leadership.
16. Sunsets – make me think of God and smile.
17. Redbull – hehhe…
18. Redfrogs – schoolies week makes me feel alive.
19. Photos – Being able to look back and remember.
20. Holidays – Times to chill and rejuvenate.
21. Connect Group – being able to share life with an awesome bunch of people that truly inspire me.
22. Deodorant – It keeps me friendly.
23. Sleep – so underrated
24. Ideas, hopes and dreams
25 – Today – I woke up breathing šŸ™‚

What are your 25 things?

2 Comments

  1. That’s a good one! I think I’ll do that sometime… so important to come back and realise that we have so much to be thankful for.. it’s easy to forget sometimes in the “full-ness” of life.

  2. Gratitude is the root of joy, at least that’s what my Facebook profile says.


Leave a Reply

