Skip navigation

… no not the softdrink… not the type that gets you from the carpark level to the shopping level of the department store… and definitely not the song by Shannon Noll…

I’m talking about the type of lift we all need from time to time.

Donna was talking about being lifted up at church the other night. For her, it was a maths teacher who had faith that she was smart enough to pass and sowed time and encouragement into her, for Mia, it was the man from the Salvo’s who came each Sunday to pick her and her sisters up for church.

It reminded me of the importance of others.
It reminded me that we cannot do this alone.
It reminded me of the heart of Jesus, loving others. When Jesus walked the earth, He didn’t seem to assume what people needed (afterall to assume makes an ASS of U and ME ;)). In Mark 10:58, Jesus is met with a blind man. The man was calling out to Him and He and His disciples and a crowd were walking by. Jesus stopped and called Him over, and asked the blind man, “What do you want me to do for you?” To this the blind man replied, “Rabbi, I want to see.”

I love that Jesus asked the man, rather than simply sweeping in and fixing his problems. I think that sometimes we, chrstians, think we have all the answers. Sure, we do have Jesus, and He is the answer but does this give us the monopoly on knowing what is best for people and what they need.

LIFT:

  • to move or bring (something) upward from the ground or other support to a higher position
  • to raise or direct upward
  • to hold up or display on high
  • an act or instance of helping to climb or mount

Follow You – Leeland

You live among the least of these
The weary and the weak
And it would be a tragedy
For me to turn away
All my needs You have supplied
When I was dead You gave me life
So how could I not give it away so freely?

And I´ll…
Follow You into the homes of the broken
Follow You into the world
Meet the needs for the poor and the needy God
Follow You into the world

Use my hands use my feet
To make Your kingdom come
To the corners of the earth
Until Your work is done
Faith without works is dead
On the cross Your blood was shed
So how could we not give it away so freely?

And I give all myself
I give all myself
I give all myself to You

Give Me Your Eyes – Brandon Heath
Give me your eyes for just one second
Give me your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me your love for humanity
Give me your arms for the broken-hearted
The ones that are far beyond my reach
Give me your heart for the ones forgotten
Give me your eyes so I can see
yeah…yeah…yeah…yeah

Step out on a busy street
See a girl and our eyes meet
Does her best to smile at me
To hide what’s underneath
There’s a man just to her right
Black suit and a bright red tie
Too ashamed to tell his wife
He’s out of work, he’s buying time
All those people going somewhere
Why have I never cared

We often sing the words “In my life, be lifted high, In my world, be lifted high. In our love, be lifted high.”
What do these words actually mean? How do we practically/ literally lift God high?

    Matthew 25:35-36

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

THOUGHTS

When have you needed lifting?
Who lifted you?
If no one lifted you, what ditch would you be in?
Are you lifting others?
How should we lift others?
How has Jesus lifted you?
Do we Lift Jesus?
Is that what worship is about?

Leave a Reply

